Arrived!

Friday 6 September

Emirates is a really nice airline. Too bad I only flew economy. The upstairs part of the airbus looked really nice from the bottom of the stairs!

There’s also wifi available on all planes. Problem was, I didn’t read the fine print and forked out US$7.50 for 15 mb which disappeared twenty-five seconds after I opened Google Maps.

Luckily the pilot didn’t need my assistance and we arrived at Athens airport right on time at 2:05pm. Straight through Customs without a bag check and up to the Metro to Monastiraki Station and checked in about 3:30pm. My room at Attalos is a cute little asymmetrical single.

20130909-230559.jpg
The bathroom uses every tiny bit of space and requires a bit of manoeuvring around the door, but it’s newly fitted out, very pleasant and has a 20 cm2 shower head. Luxury!

20130909-231000.jpg
I had an epiphany the first time I used it as to why Greek hotels mostly use shower curtains instead of fitted shower doors. I think it’s because of how clever they are at using space, and as many of the baths and showers are non-standard sizes, if they used doors they’d mostly have to be custom built. That’s my theory anyway.

Unpacked and got myself sorted. My things all basically fit into my carry-on bag, so I packed it inside my suitcase. I picked up that neat trick from a lady on a trip to Bali and Hong Kong in 1979. I’ve never used it, because I’ve always taken too much stuff with me, but this time I went minimal, so I have more room to bring home whatever I buy here.

20130909-231550.jpg

Went out for dinner and live rebetika at Dioscuri near the ancient agora. Napoleon Saripanidis, whom we heard last year, wasn’t playing, but one of the guys he’d played with was, with another bouzouki player, and a girl with a great voice. Rebetika really stirs me; the rhythms, the harmonies and the passion – I just love it.

2 thoughts on “Arrived!

  1. You sound so in your element, Di. I did the same bag thing on my recent trip – very helpful, and handy for short trips within the bigger trip if you can avoid lugging the suitcase everywhere.

  2. I feel it Si – loving it! Yes, bag thing really handy. Also for a couple of nights if you can leave larger bag safely in the car or something

Leave a Reply

